BECA Awards 12 Scholarships to Outstanding Students

Author: Department of BECA
May 17, 2023

The BECA department is pleased to announce 12 recipients across eight scholarships.


The Dr. Herbert Zettl Award

The award honors the student recipients for the high quality of their academic achievement in the BECA department and provides the opportunity for them to devote full-time creative energy to the study and advancement of the art of broadcast and electronic communication in their senior year.

Awarded to Joseph Porrello.


The Anthony F. Torrano Memorial Scholarship

The scholarship provides financial support to benefit a Broadcast & Electronic Communication Arts major who intends to pursue a career in Video Journalism.

Awarded to Dexter Flatley and Maria Tellez Rodriguez.


The Ronondo A. Johnson Memorial Scholarship for Audio Production and Music Recording

The award assists a promising student with financial need in the BECA program who is studying audio production, music recording, and music.

Awarded to Dominick D’Anna and Ky Dang.


Beverly Johnson Memorial Scholarship

The scholarship assists a motivated, career-minded student with their career and educational goals in broadcasting.

Awarded to Daphne Young.


The BAARC Endowed Scholarship for Excellence in Bay Area Radio & Audio Media

The scholarship supports a BECA student with their education, providing resources to support that student as they begin their career trajectory.

Awarded to Alex Whittlesey and Maurice Estes.


Joseph De Francesco Scholarship

The award supports the merit and service of a BECA student.

Awarded to Isabella Socias and Nichol Garcia.


Valerie Bailey Memorial Scholarship

The award supports students who inspire and uplift underserved communities in their approach to their studies and future paths within media arts.

Awarded to Sarah Burke.

Subscribe to BECA Blast