BECA Awards 11 Scholarships to Outstanding Students

Author: Department of BECA
May 23, 2022

The BECA department is pleased to announce 11 recipients across seven scholarships.


The Dr. Herbert Zettl Award

The award honors the student recipients for the high quality of their academic achievement in the BECA department and provides the opportunity for them to devote full-time creative energy to the study and advancement of the art of broadcast and electronic communication in their senior year.

Awarded to Joseph Orozco.


The Anthony F. Torrano Memorial Scholarship

The scholarship provides financial support to benefit a Broadcast & Electronic Communication Arts major who intends to pursue a career in Video Journalism.

Awarded to Michelle Garcia and Joseph Orozco.


The Ronondo A. Johnson Memorial Scholarship for Audio Production and Music Recording

The award assists a promising student with financial need in the BECA program who is studying audio production, music recording, and music.

Awarded to Diego Fernandez and Ky Dang.


Beverly Johnson Memorial Scholarship

The scholarship assists a motivated, career-minded student with their career and educational goals in broadcasting.

Awarded to Molly Salyer.


David Pollock Scholarship for Television and Motion Picture Writing

The award honors BECA student recipients for the high quality of their script writing for television, motion picture, or other media.

Awarded to Alana Marcelino.


The BAARC Endowed Scholarship for Excellence in Bay Area Radio & Audio Media

The scholarship supports a BECA student with their education, providing resources to support that student as they begin their career trajectory.

Awarded to Diego Fernandez and Brooke Adams Starcher.


Joseph De Francesco Scholarship

The award supports the merit and service of a BECA student.

Awarded to Maya Menachem and James Pierceall.

Subscribe to BECA Blast